A Chance To Win $5,000 At The AAAS Kavli Science Journalism Award 2020

AAAS Science and Human Rights Coalition
Closing date :
A Chance To Win $5,000 At The AAAS Kavli Science Journalism Award 2020

Share this opportunity with your friends

Kavli foundation invites journalists from worldwide to participate in the AAAS Kavli Science Journalism Award 2020.  

About The Award: 

The AAAS Kavli Science Journalism Awards, organized by the Kavli Foundation, recognize outstanding reporting for a general audience and honor individuals for coverage of the sciences, engineering, and mathematics. 

Entries must have been published, broadcast or posted online between July 16, 2019, through July 15, 2020. And works in a language other than English must include an English translation.

Award Categories: 

  • Large newspaper: Daily or weekly newspapers with a circulation of 150,000 or more. 
  • Small newspaper: Daily or weekly newspapers with circulation less than 150,000.
  • Magazine: Including Sunday magazine sections of newspapers. 
  • Audio: Radio or Podcast.
  • Video spot news/feature reporting: Segments or programs 20 minutes or less.
  • Video in-depth reporting: Segments or programs longer than 20 minutes.
  • Online.
  • Children's science news: Open to journalists working in any medium – print, broadcast or online - for excellence in reporting science news for children, including young teens up to age 14.


There will be two awards for each category, a Gold award worth US$5,000 and a Silver award worth US$3,500. One winner for each award in each category will also receive reasonable travel expenses to attend an awards ceremony in February 2021 at the AAAS Annual Meeting in Seattle. 

Not Eligible To Participate:

The following are not eligible for the AAAS Kavli Science Journalism Awards: 

  • Items exclusively concerning health or medical treatment.
  • Items published originally in AAAS publications or produced by AAAS.
  • Items by employees of AAAS or The Kavli Foundation.
  • Winners of the 2019 awards.
  • Individuals who have won the award three times.

Entry limits:

Entrants may submit up to three entries in all (across one or more categories). They cannot enter the same story or stories in two different categories, nor may they enter a story both as an individual entry and as part of a group of stories. 

 If the submitted work was published or broadcast in a language other than English, the applicant must provide an English translation. 

See more available grants on For9a

See more available events and conferences on For9a


United Arab Emirates, Bahrain, Djibouti, Algeria, Egypt, Iraq, Jordan, Comoros, Kuwait, Lebanon, Libya, Morocco, Mauritania, Oman, Palestine, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Sudan, Somalia, Syria, Tunisia, Yemen
Country of residence
Any Country
Both gender
Media and Journalism

Opportunity Information

Opportunity Targeting
Anyone Interested
Opportunity will take place in
United States
Required Documents

Educational Conditions

Required Specialties
Media and Journalism
Educational Level
Required Languages
Learn how to apply

AAAS Science and Human Rights Coalition

The American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) is the world's largest general scientific society and publisher of the... More details